Information

Mission Statment of the Holmes Public Library

The Holmes Public Library strives to be an integral part of the community by providing patrons with open and equitable access to informational, educational, cultural and recreational resources; to meet and interact with others in the community; to attain their educational goals; to find, evaluate and use information in a variety of formats; and to continue to learn throughout their lives.
 
In serving this mission, the Library endeavors to create an environment that welcomes and satisfies the needs of patrons of all ages, abilities, and cultural backgrounds via a dedicated and informed staff, a vital collection, current technology and access to regional resources.

Contact Us

Phone: (781) 293-2271 Fax: (781) 294-8518
Holmes Public Library
470 Plymouth St. Halifax, MA 02338

Staff Email

General Library: hfxpl@sailsinc.org

Jean Gallant,  Director:  jgallant@sailsinc.org

Marie Coady, Assistant Director / Technology Coordinator: mcoady@sailsinc.org

Kathleen Olding, Adult Services: kolding@sailsinc.org

Stacey Beshers, Children’s / YA Services: sbeshers@sailsinc.org

Joanne Harris, Reference Librarian: jharris@sailsinc.org

Maria Bumpus, Cataloger: bumpus@sailsinc.org

Lynnette Toohey Library Assistant / Bookmobile: ltoohey@sailsinc.org

Between April 2016 and June 2016, the Strategic Planning Committee (consisting of community representatives, library staff and library trustees) met to draft a new Long Range Plan for the Holmes Library to be submitted to the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.

To the right is their report based on library surveys, group discussions and community input.

It is an important document the staff of the Holmes will look to as they develop programming and collection.