Information

 

The Holmes Public Library is home to over 62,000 items that it lends out to adults and children of all ages.  The library's membership in the SAILS Library Network provides access to additional materials from over 60 other libraries.

The library has eight wireless computers (nicknamed Alcott, Bronte, Carroll, Dickens, Emerson, Fitzgerald, Oliver and Wendell) for public use, including a Windows 8 computer with touchscreen and offers faxing, scanning and photocopying for the public. The library recently purchased an AWE Early Literacy Station pre-loaded with hundreds of educational games for the children's room.

Our library's Community Room seats 50 and is available by reservation to local nonprofit groups. The library hosts periodic art shows in the Community Room. Collections in the library's display case at the entryway change monthly. (If you have an interesting collection you would like to display in the display case, please contact the library director.)

The Ruth V. Perkins Reading Garden outside the front entrance has been spruced up with the addition of a gazebo, and is a pleasant place to sit in the warmer months.

In addition to programs for adults, we offer many programs for children, teens, and families, including the summer reading programs, story hours, and infant lapsits.

 

 

Between April 2016 and June 2016, the Strategic Planning Committee (consisting of community representatives, library staff and library trustees) met to draft a new Long Range Plan for the Holmes Library to be submitted to the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.  To the right is their report based on library surveys, group discussions and community input.  It is an important document the staff of the Holmes will look to as they develop programming and collection.  

 

Staff Email:

General Library:     hfxpl@sailsinc.org

Jean Gallant,  Director:     jgallant@sailsinc.org

Marie Coady, Assistant Director / Technology Coordinator:    mcoady@sailsinc.org

Maria Bumpus, Adult Services: mbumpus@sailsinc.org

Stacey Beshers, Children's / YA Services:     sbeshers@sailsinc.org

David Aronson, Reference Librarian:    daronson@sailsinc.org

Rose Ruel, Cataloger:    rruel@sailsinc.org

Lynnette Toohey Library Assistant / Bookmobile:    ltoohey@sailsinc.org

Contact Us

Phone:   (781) 293-2271                                          

 Fax:  (781) 294-8518                                  

470 Plymouth St.

Halifax, MA 02338

The Library closes on the following major holidays:

New Year's Day
Martin Luther King Day
Presidents' Day
Patriots' Day
Memorial Day
The Fourth of July
Labor Day
Columbus Day
Veterans' Day
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day